Monday, July 04, 2011

HurdAudio Rotation: Texturologie

Albert Ayler: Holy Ghost [disc 5]. 2004. Revenant Records: 213.

November 3, 1966 @ Berlin Philharmonie: Berlin, Germany &
November 8, 1966 @ De Doelen: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Albert Ayler: tenor saxophone
Don Ayler: trumpet
Michel Samson: violin
Bill Folwell: bass
Beaver Harris: drums

The exquisite, sensational performance of these live sets hits against the low ceiling of the badly deteriorated master tapes of these sessions. The renditions of the classic Ayler compositions; "Ghosts," "Bells," "Truth is Marching In" etc. are given outstanding takes here with Michel Samson's violin adding an intriguing layer. Don Ayler is in rare form for these sessions. But the production value will render this particular disc as one for true Ayler fans as it's unlikely to convert the uninitiated.

Sylvie Courvoisier: Lonelyville. 2007. Intakt: CD 120.

Sylvie Courvoisier: piano, composition
Mark Feldman: violin
Vincent Courtois: cello
Ikue Mori: electronics
Gerald Cleaver: drums

This one is as highly recommended as they come. A near perfect blend of disparate elements realized by an outstanding ensemble. The blend between improvisation and composed material is completely seamless. Save that the compositional elements clearly bookend the beginnings and endings of pieces and often feature intriguing formal elements in between. The presence of Ikue Mori's nearly liquid electronic sound is balanced just right with the acoustic instruments. Often giving the piano, cello and drums a sense of occupying a similarly software driven space. Everything about Lonelyville is practically pitch perfect and well worth repeated listening.

Burnt Sugar: If You Can't Dazzle Them With Your Brilliance Then Baffle Them With Your Blisluth. 2005. Burnt Sugar Index Publishing.

Gregory S. Tate: conduction
Jason DiMatteo: acoustic bass
Jared Michael Nickerson: electric bass
Shahzad Ismaily: banjo, stand up electric bass
Chris Eddleton, Trevor Holder, Qasim Naqvi: drums
Rene Akan, Tazayarah: guitar
Julia Kent, Okkyung Lee: cello
Mazz Swift: violin
Matana Roberts: alto saxophone
Petre Radu-Scafaru: tenor saxophone
Satch Hoyt: flute, percussion
Bruce Mack: synth
Vijay Iyer: piano, synth
Jeremiah, Lisala, Justice Dilla-X: voice
Omega Moon: MC

As clear an indication that the vibrations of Sun Ra and Butch Morris will have an unexpected resonance for some time to come. Gregory S. Tate has taken the Arkestra model and applied conduction to a multiplicity of groove and melodic sources and found his way to Saturn and back to bring us this noise. "A Night In Tunisia" gets deconstructed and reassembled with the outstanding talents of Matana Roberts front and center much of the time. Conduction breathing new life into a war horse of a standard. "Himatsuri (Fire Festival)" and "Ostinato for Octavia Estelle Butler" add a sense of ritual as patterns are drawn out to allow for a large canvas of conduction. These are live performances that do an end run around studio realization even as they freely use the sonic materials of studio technique.

No comments: