Thursday, January 01, 2009

HurdAudio Rotation: Music of Summer, Flying Phoenix and Donuts

Guy Klucevsek: Stolen Memories. 1996. Tzadik: TZ 7018.

Guy Klucevsek and The Bantam Orchestra:
Guy Klucevsek: accordion, piano, melodica
Sara Parkins: violin
Margaret Parkins: cello, voice
Achim Tang: bass

Sprawling in the center of this set of compositions like a vine in full bloom is the melancholy and haunting "Tesknota." Using a notation that specifies only the sequence of notes, leaving the details of rhythm and group coordination to be improvised the languid phrases move between the four players like a solemn prayer uttered into a desolate landscape. An exquisitely beautiful piece framed nicely by the rhythmic, and sometimes whimsical compositions for this ensemble. "Donut Ask, Donut Tell" being a particular delight featuring the vocal work of Margaret Parkins breathing life into Klucevsek's poetry.

Fennesz: Endless Summer. 2001. Mego: 035.

Christian Fennesz: electronics

Textural studies built upon layers of discreet parts working cyclically like waves along the shore. There is consistently a layer of heavily processed electronics building up like sediment accompanying less obviously process instrument parts. Simple chord changes appear and fade away, washing along with the undertow of glitch electronics. Much of it walking a fine line between polish and grit. The tight, cyclical patterns calling to mind the flow of days that make up the season in the title.

Richard Stoltzman: Phoenix In Flight. 2008. Navona Records: NV5801.

Richard Stoltzman: clarinet
The Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
Kirk Trevor: conductor

Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra in C Minor/E Flat Major J. 109 (op.26) by Carl Maria Von Weber

Duetto by Giovanni Bottesini
featuring Richard Fredrickson: double bass

Premiere Rhapsodie by Claude Debussy

Clarinet Concerto No. 2 in E Flat Major (op. 74) by Carl Maria Von Weber

Herbstlied by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky (arranged by Toru Takemitsu)

A rare balance of soloist virtuosity that allows the orchestral composition to come to the foreground. Richard Stoltzman applies his talents toward realizations of early to late Romantic works. The Duetto in particularly filled with subtle nuance within the dialogue between bass, clarinet and ensemble. Debussy's Premiere Rhapsodie is the centerpiece of this program. The softness of the materials is allowed to unfold under its own gentle momentum.

No comments: